Thursday, December 04, 2003 :::
An update on what has been happening since Tuesday. Couple of hours after I updated the blog I was hit by severe period cramps. I don't normally have that bad cramps but this time it was so bad that I was unable to move and was breaking out in cold sweat. An ambulance came by to take me to the hospital and the hospital did not help at all. The only person I think I should thank would be the paramedic. He made me suck on a horrid tasting inhaler which made me vomit so bad that I was unable to breathe after that. The pain died down but I still felt as if something was stabbing me. Was wheeled into the Prince of Wales Hospital in Randwick but the nurses did not help one bit. All she said was well maybe if you start getting pains you should start taking something for it. If I had any energy left in me I would've smacked her right there and then.
She asked me to wait in the waiting area, Fel and I waited for 2 hours and we asked the nurse 3 times as to when I would be able to see a doctor. All they said was wait as they had patients with more life-threatening conditions being checked in. Fine, we understood that. Not long after this lady walked in and she was laughing and running around with her boyfriend, she did not even wait half an hour and the doctor saw her. By then Fel and I were furious and we asked the lady at reception what was happening she said there are other patients sicker than me. Which was complete bullshit. Fel also asked for some warm water for me but did the nurse give me some, NO she said that I can't have anything to eat or drink at all. More than 2 hours after that I walked up to the lady at reception and said I'm leaving, no point in waiting when I was still in pain. I told her this was bullshit and I walked out. Fel stayed behind and asked what was happening, here's what she said "Look, there's other people sicker than her." Fel explained about the lady who saw a doctor quicker than I did and the clerk said "I don't know I can't do anything about it she was only waiting for 2 hours anyway. Also I'm just a clerk I can't help you" I am appalled by the medical standards Australia has, I pay lots of money in taxes and this is what I get when I am sick.
Yesterday I went to the doctors and here's what the doctor found. First of all she made me do a urine test and took some blood. She then did a pap smear and found what she suspect is a cyst/lump in my cervix. Apparently my cervix is tilted as well. All that was done within 20 minutes. She then sent my blood sample urgently to the pathology and booked me in for an ultrasound for Friday. What I do not understand is why couldn't the nurse do a urine test and blood test on me while I was waiting that 2 hours? If I truly do (I'm praying that its not) have a cyst/lump in my cervix I then need to have a biopsy to check if its malignant or benign for cancer. Now tell me...isn't this life threatening as well? I am in utter shock as to how the nurses treated me at the hospital. How can they pass on severe pains for just regular period pains? They did not even touch me and there they are passing on comments and remarks.
Maybe the nurses need to get some customer service skills and some emotions into their work. With service like that I wonder how many people have or nearly have lost their lives due to their lack of respect for peoples lives. Apparently this is not the first time it has happened. My colleague who was beaten up before waited 4 whole hours in the hospital to see a doctor and the nurse did not help one bit. I am furious as to how the sick are treated!
::: posted by Sass O at Thursday, December 04, 2003
Tuesday, December 02, 2003 :::
Guess where I'm off to tonight? To watch The Lion King! I've been waiting for this day for weeks and weeks and weeks. We bought the tickets about 2 months or so ago. They were the earliest and best tickets that we could get, apparently they sold out months before it actually started showing. I'm so excited because this week is jam packed with plans. Today I've got to search for 2 bedroom apartments for sale that allow dogs, make appointments to view them tomorrow. Before the appointments we're to go over to Billy Blue college so that Fel can apply for his course, followed by driving lessons in the evening. Thursday I've got Stamford Retailers Christmas Shopping Night to attend. On Friday evening another driving lesson. Saturday & Sunday would be last minute shopping for friends in KL. Oh not to mention Saturday would be my last day working here at AngusLevitt Property Agents!
Monday & Tuesday I start at Satmford. Wednesday I've got my driving test. I'm more worried about this than starting my new job. Some of the rules here are just ridiculous like how I did a mock test and I failed it because I was driving too slow? I mean I was driving at 50 at a 60 zone! What more it was a residential area. Apparently if its 60 I've got to drive at 60 on the dot. Isn't that very silly? So I can't drive at 55 but I have to drive at 60. You would think that it would be wiser for an L to drive at a slower pace than other drivers. It was pretty silly so me, so after that lesson I had to learn how to drive fast, now why does that sound just so stupid? So on Dec 10th I shall be sitting for my driving test. I won't be too surprised if I flunked it but I don't want to jinx myself too. Its really silly being 21 and not having my license but then again there would be other people out there who do not have the privilege to drive a car too. So I shouldn't complain too much.
Dec 11th I'll be in Singapore! I just can't wait a mere 1 week away. Before I know it I'll be on the plane with Fel going on our first overseas holiday together! I think I'm more excited about Fel visiting KL than anything else, and my friends are more excited about meeting him! Since I'm pretty tied up this week the 11th will come by before I even know it. Have I packed? No....but I've already got a big bag of stuff I've got to bring back for my bestfriend. Going to get nougats as well. Does anyone in Sydney know where I can get Barney soft toys? The day I arrive in KL I've got Kristin's nephews birthday party to attend. I saw him when he was just a week old or so and now he's 2. Time flies doesn't it?
Now I've got to go searching for 2 bedroom apartments. If you're wondering yes I'm at work but No I'm not really doing anything!
::: posted by Sass O at Tuesday, December 02, 2003